My experience with Bootcamps

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

So as many will probably know, I started a fully funded software engineering bootcamp back in April, in this blog post, I will explain how I felt doing this bootcamp, what I achieved, and whether it is really worth it

The bootcamp, I joined was a fully funded skills bootcamp with Hyperiondev. The first week was probably the week where the most pressure was to get tasks done. Luckily I had already done prior research into coding with python beforehand so I was definitely ready to complete some of the tasks. The bootcamp was only 16 weeks long, so there was definitely a huge sense of urgency to complete tasks before their deadlines.

At first the lectures felt really basic but this did improve over time. When it came to my first capstone task which is the equivalent of a big project, I felt confident with what I had been taught, enough to complete the capstone task and get full marks on it.

As the bootcamp progressed we were introduced to career support sessions where companies showcased what their company was about and how to apply. We also had career support sessions where they told us how to use LinkedIn and other resources. Finally they also introduced us to what they called workshops where they taught us about dot notation and flask.

During this bootcamp I also took part in the developer week Europe hackathon, where I built a carbon footprint calculator by the name of carbonvio.

I have had many interviews since this bootcamp, my latest one being with ivy, a machine learning framework that wants to unify all machine learning frameworks into one framework.

I graduated back in June of 2023, and I am proud of this achievement.

Do I think it is worth it? Absolutely!

If you get the chance to do a skills bootcamp, definitely take that opportunity.

Did you find this article valuable?

Support Kieran Triggs by becoming a sponsor. Any amount is appreciated!